Community Coaches For 2015 Induction Announced

Montgomery County Coaches Hall of Fame

“A Legacy of Leadership”

Collins, Fryer, Kane and Scott Selected For Montgomery County Coaches Honor Roll

NORRISTOWN, Pa. (September 24, 2015) – The bright spotlight of the 14th annual Montgomery County Coaches Hall of Fame induction banquet once again will spill over into the volunteer coaching ranks. Another class of volunteer coaches will be added to the Montgomery County Coaches Hall of Fame Honor Roll.

Paul Collins, a cornerstone of North Penn Valley Girls Softball; Lee Fryer, whose name is synonymous with Plymouth Men’s Softball; Gary Kane, who is the driving force behind one of the region’s most successful basketball tournaments, the St. Helena’s CYO Holiday Tournament; and Van Scott, who has spent 50 years as a manager and coach of Pottstown Babe Ruth and Little League, are the new group of honorees.

The volunteer coaches will join coaching legends Albert Angelos, Bob Beale, Virginia Hofmann and Pat Nugent when they are inducted into the 14th Montgomery County Coaches Hall of Fame. This year’s induction banquet, an annual highlight of the sports calendar in Montgomery County, is scheduled for Tuesday, November 24 at Normandy Farm Hotel and Conference Center in Blue Bell, Pennsylvania.

Paul Collins has been an integral part of the very successful North Penn Valley Girls Softball organization for 22 years. In addition, he spent 20 years as a basketball coach in Montgomery Township.

Lee Fryer has been the main organizing force behind the well-run Plymouth Softball League for more than 20 years. He serves as commissioner, as well as a team organizer, in the adult softball league.

Gary Kane has been involved with St. Helena’s CYO Girls Soccer and Basketball for more than 20 years. But his real fame comes as founder and director of the St. Helena’s Holiday Basketball Tournament, a renowned event throughout the region.

Nobody can claim more longevity than Van Scott. For half of a century, anybody who grew up playing baseball in Pottstown got to know Scott. He is the longest-tenured Babe Ruth and Little League coach in the area.


The four members of the new induction class and the four Honor Roll members will be inducted at the November 24 banquet – which moves to the new Normandy Farm location after 13 years at Westover GC.

In addition, a yet-to-be-announced individual will be honored with the organization’s Lifetime Achievement Award.

Tickets for the banquet ($75, or $60 if paid by Nov. 14) are available for purchase by contacting any member of the Hall of Fame Advisory Board. Additional information can be obtained by going to the website – or by calling the banquet management office at 610-279-9220.


For more information

call Tony Leodora



Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment

14th Annual Induction Banquet – November 24, 2015

Montgomery County Coaches Hall of Fame

 “A Legacy of Leadership”

14th Annual Induction Banquet
Montgomery County Coaches Hall of Fame at Normandy Farm Hotel-Conference Center
Tuesday, November 24, 2015

Download flyer: Banquet_Flyer_2015

New Inductees

Albert Angelos – Former Ursinus and Plymouth Whitemarsh basketball coach
Bob Beale – Cheltenham High track and field coach
Virginia Hofmann – Former Germantown Academy lacrosse, field hockey coach
Pat Nugent – Former Spring-Ford High wrestling coach

Lifetime Achievement Award

Steve Javie – Former NBA official and current mentor of basketball officials

Community Coaches Honor Roll

Lee Fryer (Plymouth Softball),
Paul Collins (North Penn Girls Softball),
Van Scott (Pottstown youth baseball),
Gary Kane
(St. Helena’s CYO basketball tournament)
Tickets — $75 or $60 if paid by Nov. 14 (Tables of 10 — $550)

Cocktails at 5:30 — Dinner at 7 p.m.

Tickets – Mail check ($60 – if paid by Nov. 14 — or $550 for a table of 10) to:

Montgomery County Coaches Hall of Fame
803 Northview Blvd.
Norristown, Pa. 19401

Download flyer: Banquet_Flyer_2015

For tickets, contact:
Joe Manzo 610-517-9525
Tom McGee 484-336-4060
Bob Davis 484-250-1106
Dale Hood 484-902-8796
Dave Ritting 610-256-0300
Bob Shoudt 610-337-1838
Tom Brady 610-937-1924
Tony Leodora 610-279-9220
Rod Vaughan 610-539-4689
Joe Rowan 610-213-8755
Gordon Glantz 215-266-2314
Geoff Brandon 610-812-8604
Tom Catagnus 215-803-6487
Joe Rowan 610-213-8755
Mark Werkiser 610-662-1885
Dave Coupe 484-213-6801
John Pergine 610-277-1210
Steve Dimitry 610-539-9297
Mike Morsch 484-744-1486
Rick Troncelliti 610-909-1660
Megan McGowan 610-812-2293
Steve Harner 610-389-3929
Jim Serratore 610-539-3575
Gary/Nina Smith 610-279-1072
Bob Schaefer 215-643-1998


Posted in events | Leave a comment